Catch-up Review: Rizzoli and Isles Series by Tess Gerritsen

3 Jun

I’m doing a series of catch-up review posts to try and make up for my year of not blogging. These are quick reviews of books I’ve read over 2012-2013.

Genre: Crime fiction, Procedural

Series list: https://www.goodreads.com/series/41620-rizzoli-isles

Review

Some months ago, I spent the entire weekend curled up in bed with my Kindle reading this series in quick succession – all ten of them (I skipped book #8.5). I watch the TV series of the same name and quite like it – although I can’t stop wondering – how is their hair always so bouncy? The books, on the other hand, are a lot more gritty and real and I love them.

Jane Rizzoli is a detective in the Boston Police Department and Maura Isles is the M.E. Nicknamed, rather obviously, Queen of the Dead, Maura only makes an appearance in the second book of the series – The Apprentice. Rizzoli as the only woman on the team has to fight her way through the boys’ club to prove that she is a good detective. She does go on to grow from being a loner to falling in love and having a family. Isles also holds herself aloof and it takes a lot more for her to find some peace.

While some of the stories are rather predictable and most of them are gruesome, the two-woman team kicks ass. They don’t do girly sleepovers like in the TV series, rather they respect each other as professionals. From serial killers, copycats, dead doppelgangers, baby smuggling rackets, bodies that come alive on the autopsy table, secret clubs, religious cults… there is no dearth of variety in the stories.

Verdict

I loved these thrillers. The mix of forensic science and detective work and the strong female characters was a big win for me.

Rating: 3.5*

*See myRating policy

Did you enjoy this post? You can subscribe to posts from Stargazerpuj’s Book Blog by mail orRSS to get updates.

© Stargazerpuj and Stargazerpuj’s Book Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

 

ApprenticeBody Double 4Ice Cold 8Last to Die 10The Keepsake 7The Mephisto Club 6The Silent Girl 9The Sinner 3The SurgeonVanish 5

2 Responses to “Catch-up Review: Rizzoli and Isles Series by Tess Gerritsen”

  1. Nish June 3, 2014 at 3:22 pm #

    I want to read all these books too, I’ve heard so much about this series. Thanks for the review 🙂

  2. Gargi Mehra June 12, 2014 at 12:24 pm #

    Wow I didn’t even know this was a series based on books! Going to hunt them out and read them now!

Leave a comment