2011: Bookish Snapshots

30 Dec

(Stats courtesy GoodReads)

This has been such an exciting year. I didn’t get as much reading as I though I’d get done, but I read some wonderful books, discovered great authors and series and just had fun.

In other life-altering news, I also decided to go back to school and moved to London to do my MA in Publishing.

Here is a round-up of my reading and reviewing activities in 2011.

To see how I did on my reading challenges, see this page on 2011 Reading Challenges.

Here are other stats:

No. of posts: 92

No. of books read: 78

No. of books reviewed: 66

Top books of 2011

This is obviously a hard list to come up with and it’s taken me weeks to narrow it down and I still can’t make it a top 10. So here is a Top 19.

Most of these are books that I rated 4.5 or higher. Some that I rated 4 have also made it into the list – simply because when I thought back to them I decided that they were some of my favourite reads of the year.

See all the reviews here:

The Oracle of Stamboul by Michael David Lukas
Five Queen’s Road by Sorayya Khan
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbra Kingsolver
Tiger Hills by Sarita Mandanna
A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick
The Coffins of Little Hope by Timothy Schaffert
An Atlas of Impossible Longing by Anuradha Roy
A Passage to India by E.M. Forster
Tiny Sunbirds, Far Away by Christie Watson
Jerusalem Maiden by Talia Carner
The Folded Earth by Anuradha Roy
Miss Timmins’ School for Girls by Nayana Currimbhoy
State of Wonder by Ann Patchett
The Butterfly Cabinet by Bernie McGill
The Taker by Alma Katsu
Wildflower Hill by Kimberley Freeman
The Map of Time by Félix J. Palma
This Burns My Heart by Samuel Parks

I also discovered audiobooks with a vengeance and participated in Audiobook Week 2011.

New author discovered

Jo Nesbo

I listed to The Snowman and The Leopard this year and absolutely love these chilling, gruesome crime thrillers set in chilly Norway.

These books are narrated by  Sean Barrett whose voice fits the character Harry Hole and is just perfect to tell these icy tales. I’m definitely going to finish the entire Harry Hole series this year.

Favourite series

The Reincarnationist series by M.J. Rose

I ran through these three books in the series. Loved the past-life memories and reincarnation aspect. The thriller and adventure angle were also just great. I’ve already requested and received for review the next book by M.J Rose around the same theme.

Read my reviews of The Reincarnationist, The Memorist and The Hypnotist.

In 2012, I hope to follow books published in the UK a little more and hopefully review books for publishers based in London. (London publishers, are you reading this?)

Here’s to another great year of reading. Happy 2012!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 593 other followers

