TwentyEleven Challenge 2011 Wrap-Up

26 Dec

TwentyEleven Reading Challenge
The TwentyEleven Challenge required participants to read a total of 20 books – at least 1 from each of the categories below and 2 in most of them. I have to say, I didn’t do that great in this challenge. It sounded like a lot of fun and I could have completed it better, but life was too busy to manage it. For more details on what each of the categories mean, take a look at my sign-up post. To read my reviews, follow the links below. I don’t have reviews for all these books and for some of them won’t be putting up any reviews.

So here is my roundup:

1. To YA or not YA
The Book of TomorrowThe Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern

2. With a Twist

The Map of Time by Felix Palma

3. Hot off the Presses

Chanakya’s Chant by Ashwin Sanghi

The Folded Earth by Anuradha Roy

4. It Wasn’t Me! (aka Bad Bloggers*)
I have a long list of books for this one that I wanted to read, but really, didn’t get around to reading even one of them. #fail

5. Show it Who is Boss!
The Master and the Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov and My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk are two books that I’ve heard such great things about. They have been sitting on my TBR shelf for over a year now and unfortunately, I still haven’t read them. And now that they are stuck in a box back home, I don’t know when I’ll get round to reading them.

6. Bablefish

Seven Years by Peter StammSeven Years by Peter Stamm: Translated from German by Michael Hofmann

The Lake by Banana Yoshimoto: Translated from Japanese by Michael Emmerich

7. Will-Power? What Will-Power?

The Secret of the Nagas by Amish

Book cover: The Reincarnationist

The Reincarnationist by M.J. Rose

8. Mind the Gap

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown. This completes the Robert Langdon series.

9. Back in the Day

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

10. Way Back When

Don Quixote by Miguel Cervantes

A Passage to India by E.M. Forster

11. Slim-Pickings

The Changeling by Nancy Jane Moore

The Virgin and the Gypsy by D.H. Lawrence

So out of the required 20 books needed to complete this challenge, I only read 14. Not utterly shameful, but not great either. I will be taking a break from this challenge this year though.

3 Responses to “TwentyEleven Challenge 2011 Wrap-Up”

  1. Man of la Book December 26, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Wonderful choices. May I recommend the Don Quixote version translated by Edith Grossman (my thoughts: http://manoflabook.com/wp/?p=5).

    The version includes both books so it’s a bit thick.

    • stargazerpuj December 27, 2011 at 10:36 am #

      Thank you. I will take a look at this version (when I have time). I listened to this in audio and it took me forever to get through it!

  2. Jennifer, bookspersonally December 29, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    Ah, whether or not you got all 20, the ones you did sound like an interesting bunch! the nice thing about challenges is that they stretch us a bit. love all the different categories!

Leave a Reply

