Audiobook Week: My Audiobook Year 2010-2011

6 Jun

It’s Audiobook Week! Go on over to Devourer of Books, to participate and share your love of audiobooks.

I am a relative newbie to audiobooks but have always had the pleasure of listening to stories. From the time that I was a wee little girl, my grandparents, parents, and aunts have all told me stories. I still remember many of them and cherish not only the stories but also the memories that they stir up. I can never think of the Three Little Pigs or the Ramayana without thinking of my Grandad who would read to me every afternoon after school.

In recent years however, all my story/book consumption has been through reading, until late last year when I realised that I was missing out on something wonderful. Since then I’ve been hunting for good audiobooks and have come across blogs and sites that can point me in the right direction. I’ve only listened to around 5 or 6 so far (I manage about 1 a month), but I LOVE them! Here are the reviews that are already up: A Passage to India and A Reliable Wife.

These days I’m never without an audiobook. My drive to and from work has become so much more bearable. There are days when traffic in bad (I live in Bangalore, India) and my listen is punctuated by loud honking, making me miss bits and pieces! Even on days when I don’t feel like driving, I woman up and take the car just so I can continue listening to my book. They’re also great company while doing other errands around the house.

My favourites so far have been the Jo Nesbo Harry Hole series. (Look out for my review of the audiobook of The Leopard tomorrow.) The stories are brilliant and the narrator is so good!

Check out other discussion posts and reviews on Devourer of Books for Audiobook Week and come back here for reviews of audiobooks I’ve listened to in the past few months!

Do you listen to Audiobooks? Share what you like (or don’t, gasp!) about them.

18 Responses to “Audiobook Week: My Audiobook Year 2010-2011”

  1. Stephanie June 6, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    I’m relatively new to audio books, but I’m becoming quite the fan. I’ve been using librivox.org to catch up on my classics. 🙂 It’s a nice way to keep me busy on my long walks to and from work!

  2. Erotic Horizon June 6, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I hope you will continue to enjoy your venture into audio books land..

    I have been listening for a while now – but recently I have been slowly spreading my wings further outside of my loved genre – I am just now listening to Tina Fey – self narrated biography.. so funny…

    🙂

    • stargazerpuj June 7, 2011 at 8:26 am #

      Oh yes, I’m here to stay! 🙂 There is so much more to explore

  3. Nise' June 6, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Last week I manufactured reasons to get into the car to finish listening to These Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf. I’m such a blond that I never thought to bring the CDs into the house to finish!

    • stargazerpuj June 7, 2011 at 8:28 am #

      Lol! I guess the car has become THE place for listening for you. This is also why I prefer mp3s or some digital format. Put it on your player and you can listen anywhere!

  4. Kristin T. June 6, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    I’m still relatively new to audio books, too. I get mine from the library and enjoy listening to them in the car.

    My intro post can be found here.

    • stargazerpuj June 7, 2011 at 8:29 am #

      Unfortunately, libraries here don’t have audiobooks yet. So i have to buy all of them. Another reason for my slow pace with them. 🙂

  5. Jen - Devourer of Books June 6, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    It is tough when slow traffic is also loud traffic, but I have found myself HOPING for traffic jams because some audiobooks are just so good.

    • stargazerpuj June 7, 2011 at 8:34 am #

      I know just what you mean. I don’t step on it even on an open part of the road. And sometimes I think how is the drive so short today?!

  6. Teresa June 6, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    I am loving all of this audio book love. I would love to listen in the car but I have little ears with me most of the time. I do most of my listening while cleaning the house, or walking.

    • stargazerpuj June 7, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      I haven’t tried listening to audiobooks while exercising yet. I do yoga and that kind of needs all my attention. But while cleaning and cooking, such great company!

  7. JoAnn June 6, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    I need to give Jo Nesbo a try… everybody seems to love that author! I’d be lost without an audiobook in the car.

    • stargazerpuj June 7, 2011 at 9:03 am #

      I’d buy all of Jo Nesbo’s books as audiobooks if they had the same narrator. I think the format works very well for his books.

  8. Molly (Restless Reader) June 7, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    You make a good point about always being able to listen to an audiobook on the go. I can’t always have my nose in a book, but with some headphones, I can walk down the street and listen to a book.

    • Stephanie @ Read in a Single Sitting June 7, 2011 at 4:27 am #

      It’s such a good way of getting through the TBR! I walk at least 1 1/2 hours a day, so I can get through a few shortish books a week that way. 🙂

      • stargazerpuj June 7, 2011 at 8:40 am #

        I’m going to try looking for those classics I never managed to read or read long ago and have forgotten now. I know we discussed this earlier, but audiobooks make big huge books more approachable!

        1 1/2 hours! That is some great walking – and listening time 🙂

    • stargazerpuj June 7, 2011 at 8:38 am #

      Absolutely. And it’s a good way to rest your eyes a little. I work at a computer all day long and sometimes my eyes feel the strain. Audiobooks let you continue “reading” while you give your eyes a bit of a break!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011: Bookish Snapshots « Stargazerpuj's Book Blog - December 30, 2011

    […] I also discovered audiobooks with a vengeance and participated in Audiobook Week 2011. […]

Leave a Reply

