Book Review: Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by HP Mallory

18 Apr

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Series: Jolie Wilkins #1

Publisher: Smashwords

Pub date: July 2010

Source: Personal copy

Paranormal is a genre that I’ve kept away from. While I do love my fantasy, when classified as paranormal, the glut of vampires and werewolves usually puts me off. But I’d been hearing about HP Mallory for a while now and in the midst of some intense reads I felt the need for a lighter one. I’m not a big fan of the Romance genre either, so to pick up a combination of these is counter-intuitive. But I’ve decided to read outside my comfort zone this year so Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble went on my read list.

Synopsis

Jolie Wilkins is a genuine psychic. The owner of a magic shop, she has given up on romance. Enter the extremely handsome Rand, a warlock who wants to hire Jolie to help him solve the mystery regarding the death of his client who also happens to be a ghost. Not only does Jolie help find out who killed him, but also discovers that she can bring people back from the dead. This rare power puts makes a much-wanted supernatural being and puts her in the middle of a power struggle between Rand and a witch Bella.

Review

Filled with witches, warlocks, vampires and werewolves, this is an easy read. The romance element is predictive enough and the characters’ behavior is nothing new. But Mallory has such a fun tone of story-telling that I couldn’t help but read on.

The quirky characters include:

Jolie Wilkins – magic shop owner/psychic and about to be discovered witch

Christa – Jolie’s bubbly best friend

Rand – Hubba hubba handsome hero, warlock

Bella – power-hungry wicked witch

Werewolves, vampires, pixies, fairies, ghosts make up the rest of the cast of characters.

Opposing armies of supernatural beings are getting ready to fight for the power to control all supernaturals. Jolie is of course at the heart of it – a super powerful witch whose support can turn the tide of the war.

For most of the book, Jolie was the damsel in distress and completely lacked self confidence. Towards the end of the book though, she finally finds some strength both in her power and character and carries the plot along.

Is it typical of romance novels to have every man on the scene lusting after the heroine? That got a little old for me. Also the fact that Jolie also lusted after every man she met although she is madly in love with Rand.

More chick lit than paranormal, this will go on my guilty pleasure list – there is no real depth and no reason I can articulate for having liked it. But I know I’m going to read the second book in the series.

A girl likes her fantasy with a healthy dose of beautiful warlocks once in a while!

Verdict

Read only if you have the patience for formula romance with a featherbrained heroine and the typical too-good-to-be-true hero. The paranormal element brings in an element of fun.

Rating: 3.5*

*See my Rating policy

Do you agree with my review, or do you think I’m way off? Just want to say hi? Leave me a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

You can also subscribe to posts by mail or RSS.

2 Responses to “Book Review: Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by HP Mallory”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Updates on my writing « …At Your Fingertips - April 19, 2011

    […] Book Review: Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by HP Mallory (stargazerpuj.wordpress.com) […]

  2. My review of Just One Night by Ashlynn Monroe « …At Your Fingertips - June 23, 2011

    […] Book Review: Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble by HP Mallory (stargazerpuj.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

