Mini Review: Coyote Ugly by Pati Nagle

1 Apr

Genre: Short stories

Publisher: Evennight Books

Pub date: 19 Dec 2010

Source: LibraryThing

I got this books as a LibraryThing Early Reviewer a few months ago. For a variety of reasons, I didn’t get reading it until recently. This book of short stories was a great choice for me!

Synopsis (from Amazon)

From the dark depths of the past to the bright hopes of the future, Pati Nagle’s stories range across the palette of human emotion. Named for her Theodore Sturgeon Award Finalist story, Coyote Ugly includes fantasy, science fiction, historical fiction, romance, mystery, and a few surprises. The rhythms, colors, and flavors of New Mexico enrich many of the stories. Curl up with this collection and your favorite hot cuppa, and prepare to escape the ordinary.
Review

I don’t read too many short stories, but I am trying to read a little outside my comfort zone this year. So jumped at this collection that sounded like it has a lot of fantasy and magic thrown in. And I was not disappointed. This was a great collection of a variety of short stories. I can’t think of one theme that unifies all of them, but that wasn’t a problem at all – each story was well developed and a pleasure to read. Genres range from fantasy to sci-fi to romance to general. My favourite was the title story – Coyote Ugly – I love how much it coveys without actually drilling in the message.

You can pick this up over many months and read one story at a time. Each story reads fresh and it doesn’t take time to get invested in the characters or the plot.

Verdict

Recommended. Definite choice for people who enjoy short stories and fantasy.

Rating: 4*

*See my Rating policy

Do you agree with my review, or do you think I’m way off? Just want to say hi? Leave me a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

You can also subscribe to posts by mail or RSS.

Leave a Reply

