South Asian Challenge 2011

3 Dec

South Asian Challenge 2011As 2010 draws to a close, the book blogging world prepares for another year of wonderful books, reviews and reading challenges. The first challenge I’m tackling this year is 2011 South Asian Challenge. Swapna Krishna hosts the South Asian Challenge at S.Krishna’s Books. This is the second year of the challenge and I’ve decided to take it on. Swapna reads some great books and writes about them so beautifully that many books have made their way onto my TBR lists.

So onto the challenge. I’ve been trying to read more Indian authors this year and hope to use this challenge to make sure I keep to that commitment.

This is the way the challenge works:

The book must be by a South Asian author or about South Asia.  For these purposes, South Asia includes India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, and the Maldives.

You can pick your level of commitment:

South Asian Encounter – 1 book
South Asian Wanderer – 3 books
South Asian Explorer – 5 books
South Asian Adventurer – 7 books
South Asian Hero/Heroine – 10 books
South Asian Guru – Over 10 books (you can set your own goal)

So while I knew for sure I wanted to participate, I was a little concerned about how many books I’ll manage to read next year.

A bunch of books that are already on my to-read list fit the criteria, so looks like I’m going to try and be a guru here. Some of these books are the ones I have agreed to review, so those are sure-fire. Now for the rest…. I shall hope and see!

  1. Miss New India – Bharati Mukherjee
  2. Tiger Hills – Sarita Mandanna
  3. Girl in the Garden – Kamala Nair
  4. Secret Daughter – Shilpa Somaya Gowda
  5. The Palace of Illusions – Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
  6. Five Queens Road – Sorayya Khan
  7. A Circle of Souls – Preetham Gandhi
  8. Dreams for the Dying – C.K Meena
  9. Monochrome Madonna – Kalpana Swaminathan
  10. A Nice Quiet Holiday – Aditya Sudarshan
  11. The Splendor of Silence – Indu Sundaresan
  12. Bombay Time – Thrity Umrigar
  13. Climbing the Stairs – Padma Venkatramam

Find out more about all these books at my LibraryThing South Asian shelf.

Find out more about the challenge at the 2011 South Asian Challenge: F.A.Q. and sign up. Bloggers and non bloggers can participate. Need help finding books to read for the challenge? Check out S.Krishna’s South Asian Review Database.

4 Responses to “South Asian Challenge 2011”

  1. Mystica December 22, 2010 at 3:56 am #

    You have got some gorgeous books there! My first challenge ever and I hope that I can introduce some Sri Lankan authors as well.

  2. stargazerpuj December 22, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    🙂 They are very beautiful looking books as well. I’ve already bought a bunch of them and can’t wait to start reading.
    I’d love to add some Sri Lankan authors as well. Will drop by your blog for recommendations!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Roundup 2010 « Stargazerpuj's Book Blog - January 4, 2011

    […] participating in will also decide part of what I read and review.  So there are going to be many South Asian authors,  classics from the Guardian Challenge on my reading list.  I plan to join the TwentyEleven […]

  2. South Asian Challenge 2011 Wrap-Up « Stargazerpuj's Book Blog - December 28, 2011

    […] my sign up post, I had set a goal of over 10 books to become a South Asian Guru. And what do you know, I am one! I […]

Leave a Reply

