My Very First Book

29 Nov

Emperor's New ClothesDo you remember your first book? The very first one that was read to you or the first one that you learnt to read? Or do you have fond memories of the first book that you chose at the book shop and brought home?

I feel like I was always around books, even before I have any real memory about specific ones. I was born into a home with books of all sorts, so the first few that I got to know were the ones that my dad and his brothers and my Grandad had collected. These range from Engineering textbooks to Russian and Sanskrit dictionaries, medical journals, music books, the Vedas, Upanishads, Sherlock Holmes, Wodehouse, and Disney comics…

Many of these books are now out of print. So sadly, you don’t find books like these anymore. They are really old, and I am rather scared to touch them these days – the paper is yellowed with age and brittle. But these are the first books I owned and have claimed them as my legacy. They still occupy pride of place in my parents’ house since I don’t have room to house all my books in my little flat. Someday, I will have them around me – once I have my huge library and floor to ceiling shelves!


When I look back and really try to recall my very first book, this is the one I remember (see pic above). My dad and his brothers had put together many different comics and bound it all into one big collection. This collection includes some of my favourites like The Three Little Pigs, Cottage in the Woods, The Tinder-Box, Johnny Appleseed, Three Fairies. My Grandad used to read these stories to me when I was  two or three years old. Even before I learnt the alphabet, I knew the stories by heart and could recite them from memory – matching the narration to the panel.

The Three Little Pigs

No one gets their hands on this baby. I don’t know how much longer this will hang on, but I might bequeath it to a loved one of the next generation who I know will appreciate it. But for now, it continues to give me pleasure every time I open its old and wise pages.

Friends of Books - Library that delivers and I connect with bloggers at BlogAdda.com

6 Responses to “My Very First Book”

  1. Avada Kedavra November 29, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Nice nostalgic post.
    Reminds me of my uncle’s collection of Laurel and Hardy which I read a lot when I was young.. one day my cousin tore them all 😦

    • stargazerpuj November 29, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      Oh, no! That’s criminal!
      I’m guarding all these old books (there’s plenty more) from everyone as much as I can 🙂

  2. PNA November 30, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    The pleasure is all ours when we are born into a family with books 🙂 And I can proudly say that I haven’t scribbled on any of them even when during my baby days 🙂
    Cindrella was my first ever story, then snowwhite, sleeping beauty…. my parents read them to me when I was still a baby.. 🙂

    • stargazerpuj December 1, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      Absolutely – those early years shape us in ways we don’t even see. No scribbling in any of my old books either. I remember those beautiful Cinderella and Snow White books too. Such lovely illustrations…

  3. Sinduja December 2, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    I remember in great detail the Giant Book of Fairy Tales and remember reading the one about Tom Thumb..hehe..esp. remember the illustrations in great detail. Had nightmares after that one.
    PS: I like the new layout.

    • stargazerpuj December 2, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

      Oh yeah! I remember Tom Thumb too. Thanks ya, about the new layout I mean 🙂

Leave a Reply

