Mystery and Crime Fiction Month Roundup

4 Nov

Crime sceneThat was a fun month of crime fiction and thrillers! The idea was to try some new authors and figure out what I want to read more of. So here is what I’ve learned:

I love P.D. James, especially the Adam Dalgliesh mysteries. Will definitely be reading all of them.

Dorothy L. SayersPeter Wimsey novels are also intriguing. I love the time period in which it is set and both Harriet Vane and Peter Wimsey are lovable characters. Plan to read all the originals in this series.

For quick entertaining, psychological thrillers, I have discovered Jonathan Kellerman‘s Alex Delaware series.Will be reading more of these as well. These novels make for great holiday/travel reading.

Of course I also discovered what I didn’t like. Read all my reviews for Mystery and Crime Fiction Month.

I had planned on adding The Last Testament by Sam Bourne to this month’s set of reviews as well, but changed my mind once I finished reading it. I didn’t really like it – the plot, and characterisation left me uninterested and the writing was just okay. I didn’t want to add another review of a book I didn’t like.

During the course of this month, I have discovered other authors whose books I am yet to read:

  • Kate Carlisle – Bibliophile Mystery
  • Lynda La Plante – Lorraine Page series
  • Simon Beckett – David Hunter series
  • Preetham Gandhi – A Circle of Souls
  • Fabrice Bourland – The Baker Street Phantom
  • Kathy Reichs – Temperance Brennan series

I have also had a chance to read advance galley copies of the following thanks to NetGalley:

Charles Todd – Lonely Death (Ian Rutledge mystery #13) – Pub date Jan 4 2011

Laura Lippman – Girl in the Green Raincoat (Tess Monaghan novella) – Pub Date Jan 18 2011.

Watch out for reviews of these two new thrillers very soon.

Apart from finding more authors to read, I’ve also come across blogs that talk about crime fiction. Check out:

Murder, Mystery & Mayhem: A Resource for Readers

mike draper of Guilford

Jen’s Book Thoughts – which currently has an interesting series of posts – Crime Writers Recommend Crime Fiction.

Any other crime fiction novels that you can recommend? Let me know. Will add them to my considerably large and still growing TBR pile that I’m chipping away at.

Private Eyes by Jonathan Kellerman

Leave a Reply

