The Guardian (Reading) Challenge: Round 1

22 Jun

I consider myself a voracious reader. I love books, especially novels, and always have one or two in my bag. Very often, I’m reading more than one book. There was a time when I could easily read more than 2 books at a time, switch between them as my mood dictated and keep the separate stories straight. No more. These days, I’d like to be able to read more than 5 pages when I’m in bed before I fall asleep with my glasses and the light on!

As I’ve gotten older, it has become more challenging to read as much as I used to and as much as I’d like. Life gets in the way, you see. And to think I was in a hurry to grow up! Sigh!

So I’m trying to force some kind of discipline on myself in an attempt to get through more books. One of the ways to force the discipline is by making a public announcement of my intention to read certain books and set a deadline to it. Now there are reading challenges aplenty, but I am realistic. I know that setting myself a massive target is setting myself up to fail. I don’t like to fail. So I’ve taken a challenge with books that interest me and changed the deadline to a year from now (since I came to it a little late in the year). There, much more manageable.

The Guardian came out with a list – 1000 Novels Everyone Must Read. And according to Biblio File, who is hosting it, this is the challenge:

There are 3 levels:

1. Read 10 books. You must read one book from each of the 7 categories. If possible, at least 1 title should be a book you hadn’t heard of before seeing it on the list.

2. Read 7 books, one from each category.

3. Read any 5 books from the list.

Round 1

So without doing too much research, I’ve picked the books I’m going to read for the first round.

Comedy: The Witches of Eastwick by John Updike

The Sacred Book of the Werewolf by Victor Pelevin

Crime: The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler

Family and Self: My New York Diary by Julie Doucet

Love: Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert

Sci-fi & Fantasy: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

State of the nation: Little Dorritt by Charles Dickens

War and Travel: Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino

Asterix the Gaul by Rene Goscinny

See complete list of books in the Guardian 1000 novels everyone must read.

Now, I may not post a review on each of these, (I will try) but I will expand my reading… Excitement. Wherever do I begin?

Updates on rounds 2 and 3 once I get through these.

A Novel Challenge compiles all the reading challenges in the blogosphere. Whatever your predilection, you’re sure to find something that appeals.

So which book challenges are you on? And how many have you completed successfully?

5 Responses to “The Guardian (Reading) Challenge: Round 1”

  1. Lazy Pineapple June 23, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    I am not on any Novel Challenge but I too love reading books…and I try to read as much as possible…

    All the best for the challenge 🙂

  2. Sinduja June 25, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    hehe…a commendable challenge. Witches of Eastwick somehow makes me think of Salem’s Lot!!!

    • stargazerpuj June 25, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

      🙂 no comparison. Social satire vs Stephen King horror…

  3. Avada Kedavra September 20, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Dint know about these challenges. Wish I could take part in it, but these days I hardly find time to read novels 😦

    • stargazerpuj September 20, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

      I don’t find as much time as I’d like, but refuse to let other stuff nudge out my reading!

Leave a Reply

