The BIG Three-Oh!

8 Apr

As I near my big 30 – the turning point, “it’s all downhill from here” year – I’ve been trying to stop for a moment, take a break from the chaos that is life and stock-take. I was not having much luck actually thinking through the good, bad, ugly and indifferent – mainly because I don’t seem to be able to sit and just let the thinking happen.But here are some fragmented thoughts:

  • I haven’t made a ton of money.
  • I’m nowhere near retiring.
  • My holiday homes in the hills and by the sea have not even seen paper.

On the other hand, I am in a good place in life in many other ways. And that is as far as the thinking went there.

I do manage to steal some time here and there to read and this is something I came across – an article about some rather famous people who found their true calling much after they turned 30. And this list includes people like Sly Stallone, Julia Child, Colonel Sanders, Michael Jordon and many others. Read article here. And that got me to thinking… I probably have a head start there. 30 and I’m where I think I want to be for the rest of my life. Not in this particular situation, job, home or working life. But in the vocation of writing!

Our society puts this undue pressure on us when we’re 16, 17 to choose what we’re going to be doing for the rest of out lives. And that pressure is much more since most of us tend to confuse who we are and what we do.  If it wasn’t for a very serendipitous decision at 18, I might have actually become a Chartered Accountant (although I very much doubt I would have been a successful one).  I’m glad that my life took the path it did so that I finally revealed to myself what I will be happy doing. My love for language and the written word in particular is what keeps me going. And at 30, I am glad to say that I’m going to potter at this for the rest of my life. Enjoy writing beyond work, although I’m lucky that even in my job that I get to deal with the art, craft and numbers of writing. Yes, numbers, ’cause what business isn’t?

The big 30 may not be so bad after all…

Leave a Reply

